Avatar by Kira Imai

Navigation




Artwork by Tama

Watch Log

04/18/2024

Godzilla x Kong: The New Empire

This was one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen and I loved it. It was pure brainless fun and action, full of tired tropes but still a good time. There were a lot of moments where the everything was just TOO silly or over the top and we'd burst out laughing, especially that one scene that was basically nothing but ape noises for 20 minutes straight. Seeing my girl Mothra was such a huge treat though!! She looked very radiant and cute and not even the girl with the perpetually worried expression could damper my excitement.

My friend and I kept making dumb comments and jokes about how we wanted to date Kong. After the movie, she said she wanted to make a fancam of him but it turns out, it already exists!

01/24/2024

Gurren Lagann The Movie: Childhood's End and The Lights in the Sky are Stars

The entire series gets condensed into these two movies!! We watched them both dubbed, a week apart from each other. The first movie covers the first 8 episodes of the anime and the second one covers the rest. Fanservice is eye-roll incuding but whatever, Kamina is still cute and definitely would have been on my husbando list if I had watched the anime when I was a teenager. I liked Viral a lot more this time around. The final fight in the second movie is CRAZY and so, so beautifully animated!! I need an attitude more like everyone here. Humanity is doomed you say? We're still going to try to save it anyway! I see how this show influenced Bear so much, heh...

It was kind of hilarious to see Simon go from being a twink to JACKED in a matter of seconds thanks to the power of spiral energy. I think he went Super Saiyan. That scene with everyone paralyzed by seeing the endless possibilities in front of them really resonated with me... Simon's ending was so sad though! He got the glory, saved humanity and all of the other spiral beings in the universe and just... runs away to be a vagrant for the rest of his days? I guess I'd leave too after the humilation of my fiancé dissolving into nothingness in front of everyone at the wedding. At least he has Buta with him.

01/17/2024

Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget

Chicken Run was a movie I watched plenty of times as a kid on VHS and I've been a longtime fan of Wallace and Gromit too! Kind of random a sequel came out 23 years later, but I enjoyed it nontheless. Ginger and Rocky have a kid named Molly, safe on the island they inhabited after escaping the farm, but she wants to know what's beyond the island! Instead of telling her daughter the truth about why she shouldn't leave the island, she doubles down on the typical adult "because I told you so" excuse and surprise surprise, Molly does the opposite of what she's told! Surprise Pikachu face. Mrs. Tweedy is back and got a yassified makeover, her VA reprised her role but not Ginger for some reason. It wasn't groundbreaking, but I am glad it got made and I definitely liked it a lot better than Early Man.

01/09/2024

Golden Boy

I went into this one mostly blind aside from a couple of infamous clips, not knowing it's basically an ecchi and harem anime. The English dub combined with the grotesquely exaggerated expressions was hilarious, but even at 6 episodes it tends to drag on. The girl crazy protagonist, Kintarou, sports a new job every episode but eventually gets kicked out for being a toilet-obsessed freak or beaten to a pulp, or both. After he's gone, the main woman of each episode realize that wait, Kintarou was actually a great guy and fall in love with him! Rinse and repeat. It made me laugh for a couple of hours at least.

01/05/2024

The Iron Claw

I'm a (casual) pro wrestling fan, but I went into this movie not really knowing about the Von Erich brothers. It's based on their true story, but it's very dramatized and leaves out a lot, like how there was actually a sixth Von Erich brother. If you think the film is tragic, the reality of their story is even darker... The guy who played Ric Flair was terrible and there was an MJF cameo I totally missed. The ending of the movie is a real tearjerker. It may not be accurate to what happened in real life but I enjoyed it as a movie overall and think Zac Efron did a good job with his role. There's a Dark Side of the Ring episode on the Von Erichs which I plan on watching later.

01/02/2024

Pokémon Concierge

Pokémon AND stop motion animation? Count me in! Haru is a young woman who has recently been going through a tough time. Her boyfriend breaks up with her, things aren't so going well for her at work, and she keeps stepping in gum while wearing her favorite shoes! She decides to make a change and takes a new job at the Pokémon resort. She has one task in her new role as a concierge: making sure the Pokémon are having a good time!

Haru struggles with the lack of structure at her job at first (seriously, Haru?! You've got my dream job!) but quickly warms up to it and befriends a Psyduck roaming the area. I knew it being stop motion would severely limit the amount of Pokémon they could show, but I was really impressed with all the little details they packed in. And between you and me, the last episode totally made me cry at the end (my allergies allowed me to hide it thankfully, lol).

My only complaint is that it's only four episodes long, I was hoping it would be as long as the original Rilakkuma and Kaoru, but I know stop motion production is very slow. Season 2, please!