Avatar by Kira Imai

Navigation




Artwork by Tama

Reading Log

01/25/2024

Bunny by Mona Awad

A friend of mine loves this book, so I was really excited to read it! It was downright weird and creepy at times, and I liked it but I'm not sure if I'd recommend it. Going off of vibes alone, I'd say it's kind of like Mean Girls meets The Craft. Isn't this just what typical sorority life is like? No? Are you sure?

It's a fever dream of a read and generally, I can enjoy a story with weird elements that offer no explanation, but this time I'm not sure if it works. The boy who keeps chasing after the main character is kind of annoying (I get the feeling it's supposed to be the "girl doesn't realize boy has been there for her this whole time and finally gives him a chance" trope, ugh). The Bunnies themselves are insanely boy crazy and I didn't think any of them had a personality that stood out too much, which could have been intentional. The twist at the end did shock me though, and had me second-guessing what parts were real or not. I guess I'll work through that if I decide to read it a second time, and I did enjoy the prose a lot, especially the descriptions of all the characters. If the author's intention was to just write an experimental, bizarre book, she nailed it. This quote from the book sums it up the whole thing quite well:

"JUST SAY IT. TELL ME WHAT HAPPENED. TELL ME WHAT THE FUCK THIS MEANS AND WHAT YOU DID EXACTLY."

If two manifestations of my mind, heart, and desire started boning I don't think I could ever live it down. This book would work really well adapted into a movie or a show.